The GAFS Reading Collective

What is the GAFS Reading Collective?

It’s kind of like a book club, except it’s for food studies graduate students. At the beginning of each semester, GAFS sends out a poll and chooses texts by popular vote. GAFS will then host bi-monthly, online sessions to discuss the work, chat about life, and meet food studies colleagues. We want the Reading Collective experience to be as fun as it is informative, so the readings will probably tend to be either a bit more popular or a bit more obscure than your professor’s syllabi.

Want to meet fellow food studies grad students? Stay current on new and important food studies articles and books? Have an excuse to read something about food that’s not explicitly for your dissertation?

How to Join:

Sign up for the GAFS Digest to receive information about the Reading Collective here:

Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

This won’t be your typical book club!


Upcoming Sessions:

Session 9

Book:
Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America by Marcia Chatelain

Read as much or as little as you like, please just come prepared to discuss! We recommend bringing 1-2 questions or observations you’d like to share with the group.

If you would like assistance accessing the book, let us know! 

Date & Time:
October 28, 2021
6:00PM EST / 5:00PM CST / 4:00PM MT / 3:00PM PST

Register here.

Session 10

Book:
Eating in Theory by Annemarie Mol

Read as much or as little as you like, please just come prepared to discuss! We recommend bringing 1-2 questions or observations you’d like to share with the group.

Duke University Press is holding a fall sale, and you can purchase the text for 50% off with the code FALL21.

Date & Time:
December 6, 2021
12:00 PM EST / 11:00 AM CST / 10:00 AM MT / 9:00 AM PST


Previous Sessions:


Questions and Answers

How will we meet?

Twice a semester, the Reading Collective will host an online meeting. (The link will be distributed via email and located on this page.) Anyone in the collective is welcome to join on their personal computer, however we highly encourage joining the webinar as a group with any other nearby GAFS members!

This is certainly supposed to be social! We want you to get to know your fellow-GAFS peers! Most of the time conversations will be less structured and more free-flowing. Sessions will be hosted by GAFS, though any member interested in facilitating the conversation is welcome to do so. Want to host a session? Send us an email!

How are readings chosen?

We will send out a poll at the beginning of every semester suggesting texts that are either relatively new food studies scholarship or that offer considerations of understudied topics. Texts will be selected based on popular vote, and those texts that are not chosen will be offered again in a following poll.

Know of something new and awesome you’d love to read alongside GAFS members? See the “suggest a reading” section below.

How do I get my hands on the book/article?

Our board’s librarian has made a helpful guide for freely getting your hands on new food studies scholarship! (Also viewable in PDF form here.)

How do I suggest a reading?

Fill out this form. We encourage graduate students to suggest a wide range of material, from books to articles and anything in between.